Updated Feb. 5, 2024

Back to Home Page

Home > Profile

Martin Luther King, Jr. Citizenship Award
for Upstate of South Carolina

Each year, the Brothers of Gamma Gamma Lambda Chapter present this award to an individual from the Greenville Community who has worked timelessly to provide outstanding leadership and service to others.

The recipient of the award demonstrates the same outstanding leadership and community service as our late Brother Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

There have been over 40 winners of the award which started as an award program in 1981 with the already established MLK Commemorative Banquet (now known as the MLK Scholarship Gala). We are proud to have the collective service of our winners over the years as local examples of Dr. King's Legacy. The service they have given our community and its causes is beyond measure.

* Deceased

Dr. Yvonne Duckett received the
2024 MLK Citizenship Award at the
MLK Scholarship Gala on January 6, 2024

Past Recipients of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Citizenship Award

Ralph Anderson* Donald J. Sampson* Rev. Sean Dogan
Ms. Annie Mae Austin * Judge Willie T. Smith* Dr. Phinnize Fisher
Pastor S.C. Cureton* J. Wilbur Walker* Jil Littlejohn- Bostick
Lottie Gibson* Robert F. Young Cleveland A. Christophe
Pastor Sylvester Golden* Fred Bostic Bajeyah Eaddy
Dr. Rudolph G. Gordon* Michael Burton* Peggy Baxter
Truman Hubert Dr. Thomas J. Bowman, Sr. Stacey Ashmore
Rubeye Jones* Rev. Johnny Flemming Pearlie Harris
Xanthene S. Norris Ernest Irby* Rev. Dr. John H. Corbitt
Dr. Thomas E. Kerns* Mary Blackstone-Ross James E. Bobo*
Lillian Brock-Fleming Chandra Dillard Mr. William W. Brown
Richard Kerns Dr. Max Heller*

Mr. George W. Singleton

T. A. Mosley* Maxim Williams Dr. Yvonne A. Duckett
Roger Owens* Mary Duckett  

Our slogan is still, "First of All, Servants of All, We Shall Transcend All."